Our History

1982/83 Royal Park & Brunswick District Cricket Clubs merge to become the Royal Park Brunswick Cricket Club.

1984/85 A major player in the merger, Vic Beddome, passes away.

1985/86 Martin Pickering wins the Paxino Medal.

1987/88 Royal Park Brunswick Cricket Club wins inaugural First Eleven Premiership - Senior Division.

1988/89 RPBCC goes back to back, winning the Senior Division Grand Final. Martin Pickering is the premiership captain for the second time.

1993/94 Tony Globan takes club best bowling figures of 8/19.

1996/97 The Relegation Years - Controversy reigns as RPBCC is dropped to Senior A. There was however some good news as the Third XI took out the North C1 Premiership.

1998/99 Again RPBCC is relegated, this time dropped to North A1.

2001/02 Tragedy strikes when club stalwarts Ken Hillas & Neil Cunningham pass away, and the First and Second XI win premierships in North A1 and North A2.

2002/03 Adam Contessa hits a then RPBCC record with 174 not out against Glenroy Amateurs.

2004/05 RPBCC First XI are Senior A Premiers with Adam Contessa the successful Captain /Coach.

2006/07 RPBCC name team of the first 25 years

(In batting order)

  1. Jeff Douglas
  2. Martin Pickering
  3. Bob Jardine
  4. Kerry Tsonis
  5. Darren Scott
  6. Adam Contessa
  7. Nicholas Tsiaras
  8. Peter Ferrier
  9. Gary Liddall
  10. Russell Laws
  11. Adam Ramage
  12. Scott Mitchell(Bat)
  13. Howard Hinkley(Ball)

Captain/Coach - Martin Pickering

2008/2009 2nd XI win the Premiership.

2009 Club stalwart Stan ‘Sponge’ Hughes passes away

2011/12 Clint Hillas breaks the club record with a 184 not out against McKinnon.

2011/12 RPBCC announce a club ‘Hall of Fame’ to coincide with the 30 year reunion. Frederick ‘Billy Mac’ McLachlan and Stan ‘Sponge’ Hughes the inaugural ‘Club Legends’

2011/12 RPBCC relegated to North Division

2014/15 Club legend Frederick ‘Billy Mac’ McLachlan passes away

2014/15 Again RPBCC is relegated, this time dropped to West A1.